Fire & Fog

"Burn", acrylic painting on 16" x 20" canvas

Day 311: Burn, a painting

I was glad for a rainy gray day- then again, it rarely rains here, so I’m able to enjoy them when they do come- and started this canvas out with shades of gray and black. Then I got out a ‘big gun’ from my paintbox and what began as a color study became a moody homage to my dear Golden Gate.

Cadmium Red Light- a flaming orange red color- is my new favorite paint color. I like the bright ones, what can I say? I don’t follow baseball and am not a Giants fan, but clearly I’m not immune to the influence of orange and black bombardment that the World Series and Halloween have generated lately. Of course when it comes to Hockey, that’s a completely different story…. go Sharks! 😉

2 thoughts on “Fire & Fog

  1. rein says:

    um. wow. This is a whole new level of awesome. I feel like your abstract work is getting better and better with each new painting. The next one even more interesting than the last, and they all look great together. I love these colors, the mood, everything. I think this is going to be a hit at City Art Gallery. I am so happy you are back to feeling better and in the studio again because this is by far my favorite piece this year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

