Day 73: ‘Sprout’ Mini Art Quilt

I wanted to do another mini art quilt today… but I didn’t get started until 4:45 pm. I know what you’re thinking- “did you read your own blog post, woman? Remember what you said just yesterday about these things taking a long time? Sheesh, the short term memory on this one…” And yes, I do recall that very warning that I typed myself. I’ve noticed, however, that sometimes when it comes to artmaking, there’s just something I really want to do. And I can’t always be deterred by simple things like logic, materials or space. So I just decided to imagine myself as one of the villagers in that magical sewing scene in the movie “Three Amigos”, warping the context of spacetime with my sheer will and determination. All in all, it took about 3.5 hours, so my plan worked. Thanks, fictional characters from a goofy comedy!

So as I started collecting up the things I wanted to put into today’s piece, I came across [yet another] old sketchbook and began thumbing through it. I found a great ink drawing of a Cirque du Soleil-esque figure I’d conjured from my brain (you can imagine a pose like that wouldn’t have been easy to execute for a nude model in figure drawing class, despite their great pay)…

…and an old watercolor that wasn’t great in whole, but was pretty interesting cropped up into certain parts. A small drawing from the 60’s of a girl layered on top of the watercolor bit somehow seemed appropriate.

Add in some analytical text from an old literature book…

…a shipping tag…

…a botanical print with dictionary snippet, plus some buttons, yarn tied in a bow with a bell, fabric circles, and a sweet vintage zipper in bright red, and you’ve got yourself a mini art quilt. Again, unfinished on the edges. But I will totally get around to that. In the meantime, this is also part of the “old & new” series I started awhile ago since I incorporated old art into a new item. Yay! Double whammy.

One thought on “Day 73: ‘Sprout’ Mini Art Quilt

Leave a Reply

