Day 72: ‘Spring’ Mini Art Quilt

I finally buckled and bought the art quilting magazine. And after thumbing through it and getting amped up on sewing techniques (wow, that is probably the most Amish-sounding sentence I have ever uttered), I decided to go for it and attempt my first art quilt.

Things you should know before making an art quilt:

  1. Quilts take a LONG TIME TO MAKE.
  2. It’s probably a good idea to have a plan of attack before beginning. Just a suggestion.

I started off trying to do image transfers like the fancy-pants art quilters of $15 magazines, but that didn’t go quite right. I think it’s the toner in my printer. Or the fabric. Actually, I don’t really know why following the instructions didn’t quite work out, but I’m going to keep trying. So after about an hour and a half of failure, I went to plan B. Plan B involved no real direction and cutting shapes out of fabric, which gave me a kink in my neck as I started to doze off from how boring my project was. So then I went on to Plan C, which included a red ink image of a linocut carving of lovebirds I did, some actual acrylic painting, dye splotches, buttons, the word “Spring” from the Spanish/English dictionary, a stamp from a beet slice, batting and lots of stitching. LOTS of stitching.

This is about 10” square and is not finished on the ends yet. Partially because I’m not really sure what the best way to do that is, partially because I finished all the other stuff at 9 pm, and partially because I may want to put it into a larger piece. HENCE, please enjoy (or not) as is for now. I’m pretty happy with it. 🙂

One thought on “Day 72: ‘Spring’ Mini Art Quilt

  1. Ooh, I’m really digging these art quilts (and you see I’m reading your posts in reverse chronological order here). In response to another of your art quilt posts too, I also find that I love to just make things, and do find the need to dabble too–this is why I seem to keep going back to sewing myself too, although, I’m not as madly skilled as you, but I love putting stitches in, and then there’s cooking and writing, the occasional painting, random bursts of building out of wood, wire, collage, etc, etc. Making seems like something much bigger than any medium, it’s a life need.

    Like

Leave a Reply

