Day 64: The Flying Suitcase in Paris

Let it hereby be a matter of public record- I am a francophone. I lived in Marseille for 3 months while attending a semester abroad, I speak French, I have a login for a French property site where I search for my someday home in France, I dream in French. Literally. I have dreams in French.

If you’re thinking of tiny plates of food and cowards, I must inform you that you are WRONG. They eat HUGE plates of food over there, real food, real vegetables and meats and cheese and bread, all way fresher than you’d ever expect. They eat all night, and they have dessert and wine too. They’ve been our allies many times over, and on top of that, they are passionate about enjoying life above all else. They protest and go crazy when the government tries to limit or reduce any of their extravagant benefits, including a minimum of 5 weeks vacation for any occupation, unlimited sick days (after all, how can you know how often you’ll be sick? they say), FREE medical care, FREE nannies, FREE awesomeness…. So whenever I’m contemplating “joie de vivre” (the joy of living), my mind tends to wander across the Atlantic to mes amis en France.

The other day, I saw a magazine of Art Quilts that was insanely inspiring. I know what you’re thinking- “Seriously, art quilts? Quick, someone catch my head as I pass out from boredom reading the rest of this post.” And that’s what I’d always thought too- I appreciate folk art, but never thought it was quite “my bag”, if you know what I mean- and yet as I thumbed through this collection of modern, painting-infused, fabulous, textured, imaginative work, I knew my need to explore this medium had been officially kindled.

So today I decided to do some fiber art/textile work by creating a fanciful art panel on fabric. I’m no stranger to sewing- I love my Singer and I have a full wall of fabric waiting to be transformed. I’ve even done several picturesque items in fabric that are for sale at UpandUpcycled.com.

“The flying suitcase in Paris” includes some stylized clouds, a button tree, the word “joy” in French, and a linoleum stamp of the Eiffel Tower. It was my first linocut and it works well on fabric. I am considering doing some more of these and stitching them all together into a quilt of travel dreams. Or continuing with one giant France love-fest. Either way.

3 thoughts on “Day 64: The Flying Suitcase in Paris

  1. Christina says:

    This is really cute- imaginitive and ‘daydreamy’ if you will. I do like the incorporation of the objects, stitching and fabrics to give that 3 dimensional feel. I wasn’t a big fan of quilts myself until I visited the 48 Gallery on Natoma Street in Folsom when they had quilts made by locals artists on display last year. It’s absolutely AMAZING the details, fabrics, and visions that those ladies use. Love the suitcase with wings 🙂

    Like

    • I haven’t been to that gallery, Christina, but I’ll have to check it out. Seriously, I’m trying to work on having an open mind. I always thought “quilts! blah” but they can be amazing. I love touching fabric and will work with it more. I think that looking at the feats of other textile artists is a huge inspiration, to be sure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

