Day 65: Vaguely Patriotic

Today did not start out as your average Saturday morning. We awoke after just a few hours sleep to an important call at 6:30 am, when we also saw an email from Rob’s brother (a cinematographer currently shooting a project in Mumbai) about an urgent need for a missing tripod part we’d been keeping for him.

As a visual artist, it’s no surprise that I also have a visual memory. I can usually recall the last place I’ve seen something. Even if it’s just a detail like “it’s in a white box next to a blue cup”, it helps. But this time around, Rob had been the one to receive and put away the package, so I had no idea where it was or that it was even in the house.

I tracked it down (in a box, in the bottom of a bag, at the bottom of a spare closet) after about 30 minutes, at which point it became obvious that some spring cleaning was in order.

Thankfully, I got out of some of the grunt work since I had to make art, after all, and instead of starting with today’s piece right off the bat, I started working on a regular, long-term painting instead. After about an hour of going nuts drawing angles in charcoal (see below), I was ready to work on today’s mixed media piece.

I was clearly inspired by the pieces of paper I’d been sorting through while cleaning. This 5”x7” canvas includes part of a manila folder, notes I took at a temp job and a page from an old Spanish/English dictionary. It was a totally unplanned piece that “evolved organically”, as they say, and it was a lot of fun to do. Something about the colors, patterns and content inspired the title. I could dissect it some more in analytical art-speak, but I’ll hold off. Enjoy your Saturday night!

3 thoughts on “Day 65: Vaguely Patriotic

  1. Geri says:

    Very different but I’m still quite drawn to this piece of art. I love the colors and all the other bits that keep you thinking.

    Like

  2. knittersplayground says:

    This is beautiful! It’s like a picture of how my mind jumps from one thing to the next throughout the day. 🙂 hope you have a lovely evening!

    Like

Leave a Reply

