Snippets & Flibbertigibbets

Liquid watercolor has this annoying requirement of drying flat...

Day 167: Willing in thy heart

I took French in high school, contrary to logic (which would have been choosing Spanish for future bilingual job opportunities like mom suggested), and one of the most difficult aspects of it for me was the bizarre punctuation like é, ô and ç. Wait- it’s not called punctuation… help me out here, Google. Okay- “diacritical marks”? Really? That’s what it says, folks. Anywho- “It is essential to put accents in their proper places – an incorrect or missing accent is a spelling mistake just as an incorrect or missing letter would be”, according to this article. And my old teacher Madame Stevens. And it’s not just an error, it can be an entirely different word!

I used to think it was just French that was baffling like this, then today I saw a sign that said “Free 4 0z. Frozen Yogurt*” and I imagined trying to explain the asterisk to my French flatmates from Marseille.

“Qu’est-ce que c’est cette etoille?”

“Oh, well when you see that little star, it basically means that whatever came before it is probably a lie.”

“Okay… et l’autre… what eez theese two lines before et after zee words?”

“Like in a sign that says Today’s “Special”?”

“Oui.”

“That usually means that whoever wrote the sign doesn’t understand how to use quotation marks.”

It took longer to cover every bit of this 5x7 canvas than I thought it would.

Not an easy one for our English-as-a-second-language brethren. I’m a fan of words. I think with them a lot. 😉 So I decided to do another art piece with book pages today. This one includes strips of text from a Good Housekeeping guide (knitting mittens page, top), The Iliad (middle) and my vintage Nancy Drew book, “The Clue of the Tapping Heels” (bottom). I added a photocopy transfer with the antique key and orange/sepia watercolor drops at the end. There’s a bit of a focus on the center words- “wiling in thy heart” but tons of other bits are visible too.

P.S. If you’re wondering if Flibbertigibbet is a real word/spelled correctly, the almighty Wiki spake thus.

3 thoughts on “Snippets & Flibbertigibbets

  1. Rein says:

    This is really interesting. I love it. I always think I have my favorite picked out then you do something like this…:) Its amazing and so you. Cant wait to see the finished city scape.

    I want to sing the theme from Golden Girls to you right now.

    Like

  2. Stacey says:

    Love it love it!

    Haha the whole time I read this I had Madame Stevens “ax-Sont-A-GYou”!!! Stuck in my head. Makin me crack up OMG

    one of my favorite word focus mini paintings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

