A fistful of ideas

Scraps from my painting table + 5x7 canvas = upcycled art

Day 166: Fragments

I use a lot of paper in my mixed media paintings, and I tend to avoid throwing anything away just in case I can use it later. This includes tiny scraps…. and I mean tiny. Let’s just say more than once I’ve looked down to find a word or two stuck to Chester’s snooping nose. After yesterday’s piece, I had a full-on kindling stack of Nancy Drew snippets next to the partially used sewing pattern pile. Coincidentally, both caches of flammable paper are located near my incense burner. Perhaps I should remedy that.

Detail from upper half of the painting

Anyway, it occurred to me that layers of these thin lines of text arranged on a small canvas in a kind of random/free association poem-type-of-thing might be interesting. The paper itself is a nice yellow tone having aged since its printing in 1939, and is a similar color to the sewing patterns. I put down some strips from my scraps with acrylic matte medium, laid the patterns over that, and then went back in with more text over the top. A little dark blue and orange watercolor, and we’ve got a fun little piece of art made from scraps! Yay!

Little vignettes started to evolve in the text like short stories sprouting as I worked.

2 thoughts on “A fistful of ideas

  1. yeah. fun stuff you do with these mixed media book works. hahahaa, yeah, i have lots of little containers of various scraps and bits. not to mention the entire drawing table covered from about 1 to 4 inches deep… and i dont do a lot of mixed media stuff. …i never know when i’ll have saved just the right bit tho. . …so it all gets saved.

    i hope you dont mind if i add your blog to my blogroll. if you do, just let me know and i’ll remove it. thanks. – aloha – Wrick

    Like

Leave a Reply

