The Case of the Book Clippings

"Snippets", a photo

Day 339: “Snippets”, a photo

I am in the process of finishing my Christmas tree, which I’m making out of junk mail, plus I’ve decided to do a crop of poem blocks at the same time. With those, it’s poems first, and believe it or not, it’s not really that easy to make great little bits out of a Nancy Drew mystery novel. A lot of the same adjectives keep popping up. Today I took a big piece of newsprint and wrote “nouns/ adjectives/ verbs/ prepositions” and started divvying up the bits that way. Granted, I’m not 100% clear on what prepositions are, but this general arrangement is helping so far.

Realizing in this process that my source material- the 1930’s Nancy Drew book “The Clue of the Tapping Heels”- has a lovely orange/red edge to it and enjoying the deep golden color of the old pages clipped into interesting angles, I was inspired to take a few close-up photographs, one of which I’m using as today’s artwork. 26 days left!

Leave a Reply

