Romancing the canvas

This is another one of those heavy texture pieces

Day 314: Blush, a painting

I recycled another old canvas for today’s painting. Underneath it was originally this really politically charged, angry-looking thing I did in college. I started off covering up the black, gray and red with tones of pinky peach, on a quest to see if I could defeat the angry energy I’d infused into it in the past with something happy.

Some magenta, gray-blue, yellow and gold layers later, I feel like I ended up with a piece that summons up the tummy butterflies and burning cheek memories of girlhood. I think this one is 18 x 24, so I’ve been sticking with the larger scale lately. Here are some more images:

"Blush", acrylic painting on 18" x 24" canvas

Detail shot

Detail shot

2 thoughts on “Romancing the canvas

  1. sharon allen says:

    Marianne, I just love this. The colors and texture are great!!! My favorites are your urban landscape, but abstract is really special. That’s why I asked you to do the one I proudly display in my family room. Love ya, your almost home on this project kiddo.

    Like

    • Thanks so much Grammama! You’re clearly the hippest grandma out there, what with your enjoyment of abstract art and all. 🙂 Thank you for your eternal support. I’m so lucky to have you in my life.

      Like

Leave a Reply

