Fortress of Oil-itude

"Fortress", a photo

Day 290: Fortress, a photo

Today was my day-long gallery shift in San Francisco, and I left Sacramento at 9:30 am- which was just barely enough time, seeing as how it took me a full hour to get from the Bay Bridge toll plaza to the Mission District. (It should only take like 15 minutes. Seriously.) Apparently there was some kind of stupid 49ers/Raiders Game today? Bad timing.

I generally enjoy bridges. The steel latticework, heights and lights always make me think of this painting by Joseph Stella. I want to paint my own except it’s tough to get photos while being a conscientious driver. So today on my drive home after closing the gallery, I tried the next best thing- pulling over right after the Benicia bridge and taking a photo of this glowing phallis/boob temple that is the petroleum refinement plant of Benicia. Anything with lights generally tickles my fancy. It’s back to the studio with actual paints tomorrow. Have a great evening, everyone!

2 thoughts on “Fortress of Oil-itude

  1. kayla says:

    ah when we were little we called it fairyland! my mom often drove back and forth between davis and berkeley at night and we thought all those lights were so majical. this is before they put DVD players in cars to keep kids from wondering about the world outside the car.

    Like

    • πŸ™‚ I know, as if TV at home all the time isn’t enough, right? Fairyland! Ha ha! It always made me think of the Sonic the Hedgehog video game where it had an oil level. “Talkin’ bout my generation” any time I mention permanent video game influence. It is pretty magical looking. Especially if you don’t roll down the window and smell the petroleum. Also, it’s across from that C&H Cane Sugar factory, so that must give it some extra magic. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

