Little Black Dress

"I'm ready for my close-up, Mr. DeMille."

Day 288: Gruau copy

Today’s piece is the final version of a commissioned painting I’ve been working on for about a week. One of my collectors, Todd, reached out when I made the call for help with funding the LA trip to try out for Work of Art.

Todd has painted impressive copies himself (here’s his Monet in a Minute! Video on YouTube) and pitched in with a much-appreciated donation in exchange for a copy of this René Gruau illustration from a Christian Dior perfume ad in the 40’s or 50’s.

This is a big one- it measures 30” x 40”, and is in acrylic with some charcoal. I tried to keep the style loose to reflect the expressive brushstrokes of Gruau. The flowers include some palette knife texture, and I did a lot of glazing to give it depth. Because I photographed this at night, it’s a little more yellow and blurrier than a daytime photo would be, so keep that in mind, Todd! (He is seeing this the same time as y’all, per his request, so hope he likes it!)

Here’s the digital image Todd sent me that I printed and used as a reference:

Source image of Rene Gruau's Dior Perfume Ad

Here’s my version:

Gruau copy on canvas

 

5 thoughts on “Little Black Dress

  1. Todd says:

    This is the most amazing painting!!!! Absolutely ASTOUNDING job Marianne. This exceeds my expectations – tenfold. LOVE IT! I’m re-posting these praises to FB too, because everybody needs to know of your awesomeness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

