Why, I dare say that’s a dog costume, Watson!

"You're using a dog costume as daily art? Seriously?"

Day 256: Upcycled Dog Costume

I created a couple of dog costumes last year, and they flew off the digital shelves on Etsy. I’m not sure if this was because:

A. Chester (model) is super adorable

B. Small dog owners are slightly crazy

C. All of the above

But this year I had more requests, and I still have a guest room full of fabric, so I agreed to bust out a couple more custom creations. I had intended to post an instructable on how to make an upcycled Sherlock Holmes dog costume as today’s art, but this whole preparing for the Bravo casting call thing is really time consuming. So consider this a part 1- the finished example. Part 2 will be the how-to/pattern.

Old sportcoat= $2 at the thrift store. Making it into a costume for a puppy named Sherlock = priceless. Mastercard can't sue me for saying that, right? If so, I retract it. 😀

7 thoughts on “Why, I dare say that’s a dog costume, Watson!

  1. I have been looking at the posts I missed while on vacation. Matt is being silly and keeps looking over my shoulder saying “is that a hat” he was so proud of himself when this time he said it and it WAS in fact a hat. Ok as you were.

    Like

  2. *star.mama* says:

    Yes, doggie costume as art is totally acceptable! I am but a humble observer of your art/blog. I am neither critic nor collector but I know what I like. Your work has a beautiful soul to it. There are tiny pieces of you in all of your works. It is a great pleasure of mine to get a peek at your art on an almost daily basis.

    Like

    • How sweet of you! When I saw “vicious harlow” in your email I braced for a snarky comment, but I was surprised and delighted to read your touching words. Thank you so much! I sometimes feel like WordPress must be lying to me about my blog viewers, so it’s always nice to get comments like yours. Thank you for the uplifting comment.

      Like

  3. So…I make sock monkeys. I stumbled on this post looking for tiny Sherlock Holmes costumes/patterns. This looks so VERY perfect: I look forward to the instructions!

    All of your work is quite amazing, I’m glad I stumbled upon your site!

    Like

    • Hey there! Thanks so much for your comment, and welcome to the blog! I have written up a pattern description for the hat, which is the most complicated part. If you’d like me to send it to you, drop me an email: marianne.bland@gmail.com and I’ll forward it. I am not much of a pattern maker but I want people to be able to make their own Sherlock outfits and will eventually get around to making a nice illustrated how-to. Where can I see your sock monkeys?! Hope to see you around!

      Like

Leave a Reply

