I love you, man

Day 252: Gratitude

No matter what happens with casting this year, I’m grateful for the opportunity to make art, to share it with my faithful blog readers, and to have my wonderful support system. Just seeing that people actually check in here regularly makes me feel great, and comments are icing on the cake.

When I started with today’s piece, things just weren’t going right. I had the sewing pattern base down on the canvas and some vintage paper clippings ready to go, but somehow the colors weren’t working. Usually the minis happen pretty spontaneously, but every now and then I hit a hurdle. Instead of getting frustrated, I took the advice in front of me- “select your gratitude”- and starting feeling good about having my little studio space and supplies to work with.

I forced myself to stop worrying about what might or might not happen and just focus on making my art piece more interesting.  I added a drafting film scrap stamped with gesso that made me think of lace, yellow bias tape, some thread, and touches of light yellow paint. My inner happiness had found its way on to the mini canvas. Yay!

I’m grateful for you guys! What are you grateful for?

"Gratitude", mixed media painting on 5x7" canvas

4 thoughts on “I love you, man

  1. Rein says:

    Besides the obvious health, family, friends.
    Margaritas
    Starbucks
    Bravo
    Anything green, or purple. Love those colors 😉
    Purell
    Gift Cards
    Beautiful art

    Good luck with casting! You are going to rock it!

    Like

  2. I can see your happiness on it…
    I’m grateful for the internet and the blogging community which allows me to “meet” wonderful creative people who would probably never be a part of my life otherwise. Like you. 😉
    Hugs,
    Sophie

    Like

  3. Christina says:

    My Dog… even if he is allergic to grass 😦
    Good Friends… the creative ones (you know who you are) and the not so creative (you know who you are) 😉
    Independence within this country and for women- we are luckier than we know to have the two combined.
    Nature and its incredible calming ability
    A Marianne original mini canvas hanging on my wall 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

