Early to rise

"Lethal Levity", another mini city painting on book page and 5x7" canvas.

Day 213: Lethal Levity 

Anytime I can post before the sun’s going down, I feel as if I’ve accomplished something. Not like my daily art hangs over my head like a dark cloud or anything… looming, threatening, watching to see if I’ll finally cave and disappoint myself. 😉 I got an early start today so I could see my friend Jen who was in town for the weekend, and it was perfect, because I also got my oil changed and had time to make art before heading out to SF. Yay!

I can't hear the word "steeple" without thinking of that dumb hand thing from childhood.

Amusing word combinations with city illustrations on mini canvases continues today with “Lethal Levity”. While I was editing the photos, it just occurred to me for the first time that these little paintings on the book pages are kind of like illustrations, which is totally natural. I know it seems odd that I’ve just now realized that. But I guess I just think of pages and paper as art materials now. It’s easy to get deep inside of one’s own artwork and subsequently find it difficult to view it in a non-partisan manner. I have no idea if anyone besides me likes these little guys, but that’s okay. It’s enough if I do. And that’s your artist lesson of the day, folks! If you make art, my recommendation is not to worry if anyone else will like it. Do what you love and odds are someone else will dig it. Whether that someone has money and wants to give it for you in exchange for your finished work is an entirely different story, of course. We’ll save that one for another day. 🙂 Enjoy your Sunday!

Hey, I just realized that I painted a picture of a church on a Sunday. Hee hee!

One thought on “Early to rise

Leave a Reply

