Day 150: Luminary

lu·mi·nar·y

1. An object, such as a celestial body, that gives light.

2. A person who is an inspiration to others.

3. A person who has achieved eminence in a specific field.

I love dictionaries. When I saw the word “luminary”, I immediately thought of fancy lanterns from Pier One. I never cease to be amused by the written/alternate definitions of words, the words that have fallen out of speech, and the words other languages have for things that English has no equivalent for.

Today’s mixed media painting on 8×10” canvas includes a dictionary page, illustration from a vintage sewing pattern and the patterns themselves and a paragraph from a pocket atlas about the earth’s surface. I used acrylic paint, watercolor and oil pastel. The word “valour” written on was selected with that same flip-through-the-Iliad method from yesterday. It was fun to make.

I used to wonder how some painters could make tons of the same type of painting. But I see how I could make oodles of these mixed media things without getting bored. Then again, I know I’d have to mix it up with other things from time to time. I’m about the bust the cityscapes back out in preparation for the July show at City Art Gallery, so stay tuned!

Luminary, a mixed media painting on 8x10" canvas

Leave a Reply

