Day 129: But it was not forgotten.

Gold and sienna mini painting with text from Capote's "Dazzle"

First and foremost, Happy Mother’s Day to my mom, grandma, sister, aunts and all you other wonderful mamas out there! You have a patience and dedication that I do not! Unless you count being a mommy to this little guy.

He's um.. rounder these days. 🙂

Since I’ve been doing linocuts for a good chunk of time now, I’m sure some of you are thinking, “What about the paintings?” Painting is dear to me, and certainly easier than linocuts in some regard since I have spent so much more time with paint. So it may have seemed to have been hiding, “But it was not forgotten.”

 

Using scrap bits of gold leaf, gold paint and burnt sienna, I gave this piece a warm tone even though the words themselves harbor some sense of foreboding. I suppose it’s a matter of interpretation.

And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for- after a round of “eenie-meenie-miney-mo”, Stacey wins a free linocut card! Yay! Stay tuned for the next giveaway and a few really exciting projects. 🙂

Leave a Reply

