Day 97: Babushkas

Seeing as how it was a gorgeous day outside, Rob and I decided to take a little trip out to Old Sacramento. There’s this Russian Doll shop there that I’m drawn to. Perhaps it’s my Ukrainian DNA of old that recognizes the charming matryoshkas (had to look that up; my DNA didn’t remember that tongue-twister), or Russian Nesting Dolls/ Babushkas.

I don’t own any and at first I wondered if I could get a blank set of them to paint myself instead of getting a pre-made set. However, after today’s painting (a 12″ x 16″ acrylic on canvas), I really do feel like I hand-painted a full set of these darlings in the actual painstaking tradition of my ancestors. My hand is cramped up and my wrist is complaining, and I’m not even sure how I feel about this painting after all that. I’ll have to sleep on it. Sometimes right when I finish a piece, I’m cranky with it for taking so much out of me and I can’t like it until later. Go figure.

Then again, who can argue with this face? 🙂

5 thoughts on “Day 97: Babushkas

  1. Catherine Blake says:

    I NEED TO HAVE THIS PAINTING 🙂 I collect matryoshkas. You can buy different sized sets of blank ones on etsy. Maybe if you feel up to it could I commission you to make a set for me???

    Like

Leave a Reply

