Day 96: Rooftops & Treetops

What’s interesting about treating artmaking as work (like doing it for 8 hours a day like you’re magically getting paid a salary for it) is that it’s still a million times better than a desk job, even though it’s not easy. Sometimes I wonder why I love to do things like cityscapes that are detailed, but the wondering doesn’t last very long because I know the answer. If I could only pick the artwork of one artist (besides me) to look at for the rest of my life, it would be that of Wayne Thiebaud. I fell in love with his paintings long before I fell in love with a boy. I’ve mentioned him before on this blog, and if you haven’t seen his work, check out this painting- Ripley Street Ridge– that sold at Christie’s last year for over a million dollars.

So I guess every time I do a cityscape, especially of San Francisco, I think of his paintings and how lovely they are and it pushes me to try to make my own better. Please don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to compare myself to Mr. Thiebaud, nor do I want to copy him. It’s like that line from Highlander– There can be only one.

The diligence of making something new every day is helping me to find my style, my aesthetic. Maybe after this thing is over, you’ll be able to see one of my pieces and say “that’s a Bland”. As opposed to “that’s bland”. Hopefully it’ll be the former 😉

Today’s piece, Rooftops & Treetops, is an acrylic & charcoal painting on a 16” x 20” canvas. It’s from a set of photos I took somewhere above the mission district. We just kept driving up impossible hills until I knew I could get a good view. Sometimes it felt like gravity was going to pluck the car off of the street and send us tumbling like a loose rollercoaster car, but somehow we made it.

One thought on “Day 96: Rooftops & Treetops

Leave a Reply

