Day 93: Fireflies

Sometimes I feel like I should title these posts “Pretending to be an Artist, Day 93”, or “Acting Like Thousands of People Read This Blog, Day 93”. Other times I feel like titling them “I am a f-ing Rock Star” or “Why Aren’t You Calling Yet, New York?”. So I’m glad we all agreed on me using actual titles of paintings so there’s no need to subject anyone to my moody whim statements.

Today’s piece, Fireflies, is another oil painting on 12” square heavy duty canvas. I’ve never actually seen a firefly in person, but I can picture the experience from photos and descriptions. I can imagine standing in a meadow at dusk, watching tiny orbs begin to glow and hover like some kind of adorable UFO. I’m still a little terrified when I get out the tubes of oil, but I’m expecting that to give way to excitement at some point.

5 thoughts on “Day 93: Fireflies

  1. Stacey says:

    Hey Marianne,

    so I don’t comment like … Ever … I’m more of the silent stalker type … I guess … But I just wanted to let you know that this whole project is fucking awesome … and that your fucking awesome … And I can’t wait till the yearis over so I can see this great art project, and all the art you created within it, in some fancy pants gallery some where! Go you!
    Ok bye.

    Like

  2. As I kid, we used to try to kill them while they where lighted and then smear the glowing bug guts on our faces. Now that they are endagered I feel somehow responsible. Keep up the Daily. I know from my own that it is hell of a commitment.

    Like

  3. Its a breathtaking really!! How could you do this work so elegantly..It gives a lot of perspectives to the viewers and is a treat for all..amazing!! awesome…no words…too damn cool!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

