Day 91: Wildflowers, The World’s Smallest Oil Painting

Okay everyone, I have a big announcement to make. Are you ready? You might want to sit down. <deep breath>  I’ve decided to quit the art project.

APRIL FOOLS!!! Did I getcha? Although I do have an actual announcement to make, and that is- “Look out world, I’m busting out the oil paints!” That’s right. It’s on.

 I’ve done very little work in oil, and that’s because… well, hell, Marianne, why is that? I guess it’s because oil takes oh, I don’t know, A MILLION years to dry and I’m extremely impatient when it comes to art. It’s common for me to get 3-4 brushstrokes into a painting when the little brat inside my brain groans “UGH are we done yet??”. I’m already thinking of the next piece I want to do. Once I decide on something, I just want it to be done. I don’t necessarily want to have to do it. I want to twitch my nose or nod my head with a rad genie hat and be done with it. In fact, the decision to get out the oils was motivated by impatience too.

I’d been working with this medium sized canvas for a couple of hours on an abstracted cityscape that required a lot of blending. Despite my many tricks of the trade when it comes to painting with acrylics, sometimes it just doesn’t work out as smoothly as I’d like.

So I said “Self, you know oils would make this process a lot easier. Why don’t you just quit being such a wuss and get them out already?”

To which I replied “Okay, okay… but there’s no way I’m finishing this whole thing tonight with oils. I’m doing a mini-canvas.”

“Fine. I’m alright with that.”

“No, I’m serious. I’m talking about a mini-mini canvas here.”

“Mini-mini, huh?”

“Yep. Check it out…”

“Wow. That is pretty tiny.”

“Yeah, but the tiny easel to go with it is super adorable, right?”

“Maybe you can start marketing art to circus fleas.”

“Hardee har har. You know it still took like a flipping half hour to finish that thing.”

“UGH Oils, dude. Oils.” 

“I know.” <sigh> “But they sure are gorgeous.  Now I’m going to have to use them all the time now that I remember how beautiful they are. Darn you, logic!”

“You’re welcome.”

2 thoughts on “Day 91: Wildflowers, The World’s Smallest Oil Painting

Leave a Reply

