Day 75: Eat At Joe’s

 

Hey everyone! Today’s piece is an acrylic painting on 18″x24″ heavy duty canvas called “Eat at Joe’s”. In-progress shots below. This took about 4 hours from start to finish, and the charcoal drawing took up 1.5 hours of that total alone.  

I had a radio interview with Chris Wakefield of KHND 1470 AM’s “Into the Night” this evening! Chris is an artist himself (WakefieldArts.com) as well as the host of this show. I had a great time. We poked fun at the French and mused about how art-exhausted I will be at the end of this project.

 The interview will be available via podcast on the KHND1470.com website sometime soon. Click on the “Into the Night” page located on the left hand side of the screen. In the middle of the screen, you will see a black square with some buttons on it. Click on the word “website” next to the blue circle icon in that box (the podbean player) to access the page with the interviews.

I have to say, I think today’s piece is kind of awesome. Not to toot my own horn or anything, but for four hours- not bad. 🙂

I took photos at 5 stages throughout the process and the final product. If you want to make your own “happy little cityscape” ala Bob Ross, just use these images as a handy step-by-step guide.

10 thoughts on “Day 75: Eat At Joe’s

  1. Geri says:

    Absolutely love this! Keep us posted with what is going on.

    Also, found the mini quilts very interesting. Nothing like Grandma’s quilts!!!

    Like

  2. Reina says:

    What a vibrant blue sky. This is beautiful Marianne! Definitely shows that you put a lot of time into this…love it! The reflection of light on the street looks so awesome.

    Like

  3. Christina says:

    I am a fan of your cityscapes, no doubt. I can just imagine this steet in The City- alive and bustling. This needs to be hanging in a gallery. You really are an amazing artist.

    Like

  4. Christina says:

    Marianne, are you selling any of your art from Art Project 2010? I am very interested in a couple of your cityscapes…can you email me when you get a chance?

    Like

  5. Julie says:

    I need this one. You can keep it til the end of the project with all display rights for a show, but it has to eventually come live with me! I even promise to pay the asking price for the original. When are you coming to Hawaii for inspiration?

    Like

    • Do you mean charcoal? I use charcoal often in addition to acrylics, I enjoy the drawing element within the painting. Artists use all media, including pencil. That’s the beauty of art, the freedom to create in your own way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

