Day 68: Vaguely Social

I just joined some art groups on LinkedIn, thinking it would be a good idea to start meeting and talking to other artists in general, instead of only using LinkedIn for my sham of a “sales career” that I hope never to return to. While participating in an “introduce yourself” discussion in one group, one member surprised me by commenting that the idea of making a piece of art every day sounds like a perfect formula for creating crappy work and destroying the art world by trying to pass off bad art as “internet-worthy”.

I found it offensive (and slightly flattering) to consider that my little art blog could somehow downgrade the quality of artwork worldwide. The junior high-schooler in me fought long and hard to get adult me to post a reply like ‘I’m really sorry that you were born without a penis”, but I managed to resist.

There were also lots of really wonderful, positive comments from other artists who can see how this would be a good exercise that would push someone to become a better artist, which is my goal.

So I want to take a moment today to say this: I know not everything I post this year will be great. I know some of it will even suck. I’m okay with that, and I hope you are too. Here’s why:

For the art-lovers reading this, I hope that following this blog will make art feel more accessible to you. I hope you’ll see that even though we artists may try to pretend like everything we make is great, the great pieces can be few and far between. I hope this will somehow increase your appreciation of art you really connect with, since you can see that making art is sometimes a really torturous process.

For artists who may be reading this, I hope you’ll try an exercise like this in some shape or form, because it’s impossible not to learn something about yourself in the process. And if what you learn is that making art you aren’t going to toss into the burn pile takes longer than one day, then you’ve made progress there too. But I think you’ll discover a lot more than that.

Thanks for hanging in there with me, everyone! Today’s piece is a larger canvas (8×10 instead of 5×7) exploring the same mixed media style as the last three days. I don’t think the composition is as successful as I’d like, but I do enjoy all the snippets that went into it.

4 thoughts on “Day 68: Vaguely Social

  1. Tess says:

    Wow. That guy is a jerk. It’s not like you post a price under each piece or claim it to be wonderful. ANd I think lots of your art is beautiful! He is just dumb and whining because he could never take on a real project 🙂

    Like

  2. How much you wanna bet that guy is scared to death to paint and put himself out there? …So he hides behind the “slow” theory of “quality” paintings to justify his abysmal production levels.

    As for the argument that creating work too quickly/daily degrades the quality and market value… Ah hem – Picasso was a prolific daily painter, and his values and quality weren’t hurt one little bit.

    One last thought: Creating something takes tremendous time, effort, bravery and love. Destroying something takes seconds, and can be done with a mere flick of the wrist. It’s no wonder strong people gravitate toward one, and weak people to the other. Keep up the great work Marianne!

    Like

Leave a Reply

