Day 48

“Leaving San Francisco is like saying goodbye to an old sweetheart. You want to linger as long as possible.” -Walter Cronkite, found here.

I do love the city. I could never live there, because driving in San Francisco is hazardous and terrifying and the parking frustrations alone are enough to incite violence, but I do love to visit. This skyline is from a photo I took while standing across the bay in Berkeley. I was visiting Berkeley for a photo shoot- I used one of those pictures for Day 27’s watercolor- and I couldn’t help snapping a few shots of my old gray friend across the way while I was there. Living in the Bay Area taught me to love all the many variations of gray. I can smell the salty, damp air when I look at this.

Painting on this wood is fun and different. The texture is like velvet. The grain resists the paint, but I don’t mind. And it seems like it would be faster to paint in “miniature”- these blocks are about 4 inches wide and 1.5 inches deep- but it’s such a contrast from what I’m used to. I started out painting murals as a kid, and from there went to pretty large canvases. Only recently (these past few months for the most part) have I done small-scale work on a regular basis. I keep trying to make things bigger than they should be. 🙂

I’m only a month and a half in, but already I’ve learned A LOT about myself as an artist. I sincerely recommend this challenge to other artists. Try making something every day for a month straight. You’ll be surprised and probably amazed with what you end up with. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 48

  1. maleaab says:

    Wow! You got a lot of detail in there for such small art and considering the grain of the wood block! We are going to Berk on Friday and I’m looking forward to taking some pics across the Bay! I have so many ideas in my head for SF art projects!

    Like

Leave a Reply

