Day 41

Gasp, it’s the earliest post yet! This morning, I set out on a photo excursion. On my commute, I’d always go past Old Sacramento. Though I could see the Victorian scrollwork and old brick buildings from the freeway, I wasn’t sure how to get there, so I took the Prius, knowing its GPS would help me get home. After trying a couple freeway exits that looked like they should take me directly there, but which looped around in all manner of bizarre construction, I surmised that the architect who plotted these streets had modeled them after an arteriovenous malformation*. It started to feel very much like my text-based roleplaying game days of old..“Sorry, you need 200 more XP to unlock Old Sacramento!”**

Sitting at a stoplight, I noticed the car in front of me turn awkwardly into what was, for all intents and purposes, an invisible road. I would never have seen it if I hadn’t noticed that car slipping through the fabric of spacetime into this hidden left turn. Happily, I followed and discovered I’d ended up on the streets I was looking for! I even found parking. As I fished around for quarters, I saw endless ant-trails of schoolchildren walking past the vendors who’d just opened up. The shopkeeps looked at the kids as they trod past as if they could see little dollar-signs floating above their heads. I could almost hear them think, “Ah, that pudgy one’s definitely good for a funnel cake on the way back.”

The street was pretty quiet, considering it’s a weekday, and I felt like an explorer. I didn’t feel weird with my camera, like I sometimes do. Long shadows stretched across the plankboards of the raised wooden sidewalks and into the dribble of cobblestone they’d decided not to pave over for sentiment’s sake. I took quite a few photos and had them printed out at a Kodak kiosk for painting references, but some of them were just lovely on their own. Today’s piece is a photo that captures textures and modern ruins in a way that enraptures me (with some boosted contrast and red tint), and I hope you like it too.

*That one’s for you, mom! Nothing like having an Angio Tech as a mother. 🙂

**And that one’s for my nerd brethren. Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Day 41

  1. Stacy says:

    Hey Marianne! I’ve been catching up on your blog this morning and really enjoy seeing your work. I know it can be tough to stick with a daily project, so kudos to you for combining creativity with productivity. Nice seeing you last weekend, too!

    Like

  2. Hey Stacy! It was great seeing you too! You’re hilarious, it was refreshing. Glad you’re enjoying the blog. If you happen to notice any grammatical, spelling or punctuation errors, please feel free to set me straight! 🙂 hope you’re doing great.

    Thanks Nicole! I love the simple Vista picture editing software.

    Like

Leave a Reply

