Day 40

To quote a punk band that was rocking out when my mom was rocking me to sleep -The Descendents- everything sucks today! It’s just one of those reverse-Midas days. Assuming the opposite of gold is poop, which I am.

First, I got red paint on some of my other pieces piling up in the studio doing a splatter technique. Then, irritated, I went to get the pear cider I’d put into the freezer, and I cracked it open and got one nice, cold sip before it froze up. My hands look like I’ve been performing 19th century surgery, I have a headache, and to top it off, the painting I’m working on SUCKS and I hate it and I wish it would go away. I could chuck the “entire shebang” and do something entirely different.

I thought I would be so much more productive at home, unemployed, yet this morning I slept in till 11:30 and, outside a trip to BevMo, have essentially accomplished squat. Ack, which reminds me, I haven’t exercised in awhile either. This is ridiculous. Tonight I’m going to make a list and tomorrow I’m going to set the damn alarm.

After many layers of ‘ick’ and ‘eww’ and ‘damn it!!’ and ‘why, God, why???’ I finally got this thing looking kind of creepy and colorful and interesting and- most importantly- FINISHED. Yay me!

4 thoughts on “Day 40

  1. bluebicicletta says:

    Ahh, you crack me up. I believe in letting yourself sleep in and do nothing, at least for a little while, no? I’ve learned that staying at home is a totally different pace. I often have moments of panic—“am I doing enough? It feels like I’m not accomplishing ANYthing!” But I also try to appreciate the ability to wake up without the alarm and go have lunch with my husband, or go out walking at 2 pm. I command you: take it easy on yourself!

    Like

  2. Hi. To start with I want to say that I genuinely like your web site, just observed it the past week but I have been following it increasingly since then.

    I seem to come to an agreement with most of the thinkings and opinions and this post is no different. entirely

    Thank you for the excellent website and I hope you preserve up the beneficial perform. If you do I will keep on to read it.

    Possess a fantastic day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

