Day 4

So it’s the new year. Nothing hammers it in like the first day back to work after attending a dry wedding on a Sunday. I’m seeing all the chipper resolutions out there and thinking of how many of my own resolutions I’ve given up on before I even wrote them down and secretly mocking those who plan to stick to theirs. Because I’m clearly a mean little person inside, that’s why.

Anywho, I was sitting on the couch trying to become magically inspired to make something, and I decided to hit up my favorite source of general inspiration- Etsy.com. This time, I swung over to the Vintage section and typed in the keyword “colorful”. Various geometric patterns and obnoxiously bright tones abounded. (Is that right? Abound-ed?) Combining that palette with the spirit of challenging one’s self in the new year, I whipped out the oil pastels.

Oil pastels have long been the bane of my art efforts. They smear and they’re hard to blend and they make me angry. Nonetheless, I used them for this small drawing on bristol paper, and I suppose it came out fine if I do say so myself, which I do.

5 thoughts on “Day 4

  1. A. Shelli says:

    The Year of the Tiger doesn’t officially start until Feb 14th, yet to start out attacking the pain in the ars Oil Pastels and showing them who’s boss. Early tiger attack doesn’t surprise me, you’ve always been an overachiever.

    Like

  2. A. Shelli says:

    p.s. Don’t feel bad. As U. Jack and I were walking into the liquor store to stash up on hootch for the wedding, we noticed a gym across the parkinglot. We pointed and snickered at all the new members struggling on the treadmills.

    Like

Leave a Reply

