Day 1

Even as I sat down to paint in my nice clean studio at about noon after procrastinating for an hour, I had no idea what I was going to do. When I woke up, the first colors that popped into my head were teal and red, but I’ve been thinking of pink a lot lately. Color always inspires me, so I started there, creating a field of pinks and yellows. Geometric shapes also frequently make their way into my abstract paintings, so I added some blocks of magenta, white and blue.

About an hour into it, I hated the painting already and didn’t know what to do with it, so I walked away and made lunch. Returning, with Pandora radio playing the Yeah Yeah Yeahs station on my iPod touch, I continued to work the composition with some lines and more shapes and more layers.. and I hated it even more.

Sighing, I added a paper tag that I’ve been keeping in a box of supplies for who knows how long (I don’t even remember where it came from) and slathered a generous amount of heavy gel on to the bottom, enough so I could press a plastic mesh into it to give it some interesting texture, and thankfully I had to let that dry, so I could walk away from this torturous thing again.

I took a break to see if I could find a cardigan to wear to my sister’s wedding on Sunday, and failing in that mission, I at least succeeded in clearing my head for bit. When I returned, I knew I needed to simplify. I painted a thin white glaze over most of the piece saving a few circles of color, added mint to the upper part, threw in some more ochre and magenta, washed some transparent colors over the circle spots and finished it off with some charcoal lines.

I stood back and knew I liked it and was happy with it and could move on to making dinner. The finished piece is a colorful abstract on a 16″ x 20″ canvas. So far this is what I expected it to be- tough. 🙂 I can only hope it gets easier as I go along…

*UPDATE: This piece is SOLD. Thanks!*

5 thoughts on “Day 1

  1. A. Shelli says:

    I love it! I’ve often wondered what goes on in the artists’ mind while creating a piece of art. This is going to be SO interesting!

    Like

  2. That’s gorgeous! I love the circles and the different washes. Geometric shapes also often come up for me when I do more abstract work. I particularly love triangles.

    Like

  3. Christina says:

    My friend Lindsey told me about your website. I think it’s a wonderful idea and wish I had enough creativity swirling around in my head to come up with it first! Although I would probably alternate between stick figures and random photographs that I would take, I definitely think it would stimulate my brain outside of my 8-4 cubicle (gasp) job. I love your starting piece with the cheerful colors and infinite circles. An the angle the picture was taken at, I love it. I am a new fan and will be checking in periodically for inspiration 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Christina! I have always had trouble with starting and sticking with habits, so it’s about time I do something like this. I am hoping I’ll have amassed an awesome amount of good stuff at the end. It takes a lot of stick figures to make a flip book, so that works! 😉 I think it’s a great idea for anyone. I’m sure that a giant wall of photos you had taken daily would be very cool. Thanks for following! And Thanks Lindsey for sharing. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

